‘Centennial III’ reigns in Subic to Boracay race

In Photo: TP 52 Davidson Centennial III (center) bags the 8th Standard Insurance Subic Bay to Boracay Race.

Boracay—For the first time, TP 52 Davidson Centennial III of Judes Echauz trounced top contender and veteran campaigner Jelik, skippered by Hong Kong’s steel magnate Frank Pong to win the 8th Standard Insurance Subic Bay to Boracay Race (SBBR) started at the Freeport last Saturday noon.

Jun Avecilla, chairman of the organizing committee, announced that Centennial III, with all Filipino-crew arrived in this pristine white beach resort with 11:33:14 nosing out Jelik with 11:50: 02 or difference of 16: 48.

“This is the first that Centennial III beats Jelik on the line in the SBBR since the competition started seven years ago,” according to Avecilla adding that Centennial III placing second to Jelik for the past five years.

Geoff Hill’s Smith 72 Customs Atipodes placed third with12: 02: 46 in annual regatta grand prix sanctioned by the Philippine Sailing Association the Asian Yachting Grand Prix and fully backed by Subic Bay Metropolitan Authority, Watercraft Venture Corp., the Lighthouse Marina Resort and Subic Sailing Club.

Other local contenders in the Racing Class I (RCI) are Excel 53 Karakoa helmed by businessman Ray Ordoveza and regular campaigner Black Baza captained by Anthony Root and Steve Manning, wherein the organizers are computer their time of arrival as of press time.

From Subic, the race will pass through the Bataan Peninsula, Batangas beaches, Mindoro, Tablas and Carabao Island  in Romblon before reaching the tip of Boracay Island.

However, Scallywag, the highly fancied 100-footer of Malaysian-born Seng Huang Leng, failed to erase their previous time record arriving 9:26:31, according to Avecilla.

Scallywag is the former Ragamuffin 100, the same boat that holds the record in the Subic Bay to Boracay Race in 14 hours, 23 minutes, 17 seconds set in 2015.

The four-day regatta, a combination of point-to-point and windward/leeward courses, is part of the Asian Yachting Grand Prix season. Captain Tom Sheppard is the main judge.

The Boracay Regatta Cup also offers precious points for the coveted Asian Yachting Skipper and Yacht of the Year awards.

Overall winners in each three class of the combined Subic Bay to Boracay Race and the Boracay Cup Regatta series will bring home the impressive hand crafted solid brass trophy replicas by Fernando Cacnio, a multiawarded Filipino visual artist.

The Philippine Coast Guard will provide escorts for the participants during the race for safety and security.

Image credits: Nonilon Reyes


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Previous Article

Dustin Johnson wins at Riviera, goes to No. 1 in the world

Next Article

Spanish Uprising

Related Posts