Metrobank Foundation names 10 Outstanding Filipino teachers and soldier awardees for 2018

THE Metrobank Foundation Inc. (MBFI), in coordination with the Department of Education (DepEd), presented the four teacher-awardees of the 2018 Metrobank Foundation Outstanding Filipinos in a press conference held on August 9 in Quezon City.

The teacher-awardees were Mary Jane S. Ramo, Master Teacher II, Tonggo Elementary School (Tudela, Misamis Occidental);  Alma S. Janagap, EdD, Master Teacher II, Pavia National High School (Pavia, Iloilo);  Aimee Marie C. Gragasin, PhD, Special Science Teacher V, Philippine Science High School-Cagayan Valley Campus (Bayombong, Nueva Vizcaya); and Carla B. Dimalanta, PhD, Professor X, University of the Philippines Diliman (Quezon City).

Education Secretary Leonor M. Briones lauded the Filipino exemplars in the field of teaching and highlighted their vital role in bringing to the ground the various programs and projects of the DepEd.

“Congratulations to all those in the teaching profession, most especially the teacher-awardees in this Outstanding Filipinos search. You have been, and will always be, an important partner of DepEd in inculcating knowledge and values in our learners,” Briones stated.

Joining them are three soldiers and three police officers. The 10 awardees will each receive a cash prize of P1 million (net of tax), a gold medallion and a trophy. They will also be conferred the title “Metrobank Foundation Fellows in Public Service.” As fellows, they will be given the opportunity to share their best practices through the conduct of public lectures across the country.

“Their stories of triumph and resilience inspire us, as individuals and as a community, to strengthen our commitment to building a better future for our nation. It is our privilege to let their light shine so that many more may benefit from their example,” MBFI President Aniceto Sobrepeña stated.

Briones expressed gratitude to MBFI for taking this initiative to acknowledge the exemplary efforts of teachers, as well as soldiers and police officers.

The awardees underwent a rigorous selection process and were chosen from hundreds of nominations. Board of Assessors, composed of members from the government, academe, military and media sectors, predetermined the semifinalists through document review. The accomplishments of the semi-finalists were field-validated by third-party organizations, the Philippine Social Science Council and the National Defense College of the Philippines. The field validation (with an additional panel interview and demonstration teaching for teacher-semifinalists) determined 19 finalists whose work has inspired and influenced their peers, as well as the larger community with a lasting positive impact.   

The 19 finalists were then interviewed by a multi-sectoral Final Board of Judges chaired by Sen. Juan Edgardo M. Angara and cochaired by Supreme Court of the Philippines Associate Justice Noel Tijam. The other members included Justice Secretary Menardo I. Guevarra; Makati City Mayor Abigail Binay; De La Salle Philippines President Br. Armin Luistro; Philippine Business for Social Progress Chairman Manuel Pangilinan; Rockwell Land Inc. President and CEO Nestor Padilla; and veteran journalist Ma. Teresa Vitug.

Joining the ranks of 655 outstanding public servants recognized by MBFI since 1985, the awardees will be honored during the formal conferment ceremonies on September 7, 2018, at the Metrobank Plaza, Makati City as part of Metrobank’s 56 thanniversary celebration.

House Manila Leaderboard
ECA 728×90 Leaderboard
Suntrust banner2