Palace proclamation declares state of calamity in 4 ‘Paeng’-hit regions

President Ferdinand “Bongbong” R. Marcos Jr. has declared a state of calamity in four regions, which were devastated by severe tropical storm “Paeng” (international code name Nalgae) over the weekend.

In his Proclamation No. 84, which he issued through Executive Secretary Lucas P. Bersamin on Wednesday, Marcos said the declaration would cover Calabarzon, Bicol Region, Western Visayas, and the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (BARMM).

Over 1.4 million people in the said regions were adversely affected by the floods and landslides caused by Paeng.

“All government departments, agencies, and instrumentalities concerned are hereby directed to continue implementing and executing rescue, recovery, relief, and rehabilitation measures in accordance with pertinent operational plans and directions,” Marcos said in the two-page issuance.

The state of calamity in the said regions will remain in effect for six months unless earlier lifted by the President.

In areas covered by Proclamation 84, the government may use calamity funds, impose price freeze for basic necessities and grant zero-interest loans.

Marcos said the areas covered by the proclamation might be expanded upon the recommendation of the National Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Council (NDRRMC) and consistent with existing laws and issues.

NDRRMC initially recommended for the entire country to be placed under the state of calamity for one year.

But Marcos rejected the proposal and instead limited the state of calamity status to some provinces severely affected by Paeng.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Previous Article

60th PES annual confab to tackle PHL development in post-pandemic world

Next Article

Percy’s brother in guarded optimism over case probe

Related Posts