It’s final: Comelec to proclaim 12 senators, top party-lists on May 18

20160120 Comelec

THE Commission on Elections, sitting as the National Board of Canvassers (NBOC), has finalized the dates for the proclamation of the winning senators and some of the party-list groups this week.

This after the poll body was finally able to complete the canvassing of 172 of the 173 COCs on Monday without the election results in areas, where special elections will be held in the coming weeks. 

Comelec Commissioner George M. Garcia said they are now just waiting for the arrival of the COC in Lanao Del Sur, which is expected to arrive on Tuesday, but which still does not include the election results in 14 barangays in the province, where a failure of election was declared due to election-related incidents of violence. 

To note, Comelec said it will hold a special election in the 14 barangays on May 24 as well as in Shanghai in China, once the lockdown in the city is lifted by the Chinese government. 

There are over 8,200 voters in the 14 barangays and 1,900 others in Shanghai. 

Proclamation schedule

Because of the long time it will take to wait for the election results, Comelec decided to push through with the proclamation on Wednesday of the top 12 senators with the most votes.   

“The En Banc has decided to make the proclamation for the winning senators on May 18 at 4 pm. All 12 of the senators-elect will be proclaimed,” Acting Comelec spokesperson John Rex C. Laudiangco said in a press conference on Monday.

But due to pending completion of the canvassing, Laudiangco explained they decided to the forgo announcing the ranking of each winning senator during the proclamation ceremony.

Each senator-elect will be allowed to have five people with them at the rites. 

Comelec will also proclaim the party-list groups with the “guaranteed seats” after getting the most votes on Thursday at 4 pm. 

Each of the qualified party-lists will be represented by two representatives during the proclamation ceremony.  

Latest ranking 

Based on the fifth  National Tally Sheet of the NBOC, the senators with highest votes are actor Robinhood “Robin” C. Padilla (26.49 million votes); Antique Representative Lorna “Loren” B. Legarda (24.18 million votes); broadcaster Rafael “Raffy” T. Tulfo (23.3 million votes); Senator Sherwin “Win” T. Gatchalian (20.54 million votes); and Sorsogon Governor Francis “Chiz” Escudero (20.24 million votes); and Former Public Works Secretary Mark A. Villar (19.4 million votes).

Also on the Magic 12 for senatorial candidates are Taguig first district Representative Alan Peter S. Cayetano (19.26 million votes); Senator Juan Miguel “Migz” F. Zubiri (18.66 million); Senator Emmanuel Joel J. Villanueva (18.43 million); former senator Joseph Victor “JV” Ejercito Estrada (15.8 million votes); Senator Theresia “Risa” Hontiveros-Baraquel (15.38 million votes); and former senator Jose “Jinggoy” Ejercito Estrada (15 million). 

For party-list groups, those which exceeded the 2 percent threhold of the total votes to get the guaranteed seats are ACT-CIS  (2.1 million votes); 1 Rider Party-list (999,608 votes); Tingog (884,595 votes); 4PS (834,345 votes); Ako Bicol (815,849 votes); and Sagip (774,075 votes).

The fifth NBOC bulletin covered 55.4 million votes from 149 COCs. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Previous Article

March remittances grow 3.2% to $2.594 billion

Next Article

The Senate presidency

Related Posts