Rowers land three SEAG bronze medals

HANOI—Filipino rowers just couldn’t find their rhythm at the Hai Phong on Friday and settled for bronze medals in men’s lightweight coxless and men’s and women’s lightweight quadruple sculls in the 31st Southeast Asian Games.

Edgar Ilas, Roque Abala Jr., Zuriel Sumintac and Joachim De Jesus clocked seven minutes and 0.117 second to finish third behind gold medal winner Indonesia and Vietnam in the competitions being staged at the Thuy Nguyen Hai Phong Aquatics Center.

Indonesia won gold in 6:47.729 seconds and Vietnam silver in 6:52.879.

The quartet of Joanie Delgaco, Kharl Julianne Sha, Feiza Jane Lenton and Alyssa Hannah Go clocked 7:30.148 in women’s lightweight quadruple sculls that Vietnam topped in 7:11.326. Indonesia was second in 7:18.338.

Athens Tolentino, Van Maxilom, CJ Jasmin and Emmanuel Obaña also finished third in men’s lightweight quadruple sculls event with a clocking of 6:46.841, way behind runner-up Vietnam (6:34.444).

Indonesia claimed its second gold for the day with a time of 6:28.399 seconds.

The Philippines has so far clinched one silver and four bronze medals, counting the runner-up finish of Tokyo Olympian Cris Nievarez and CJ Jasmin in men’s lightweight double sculls and the third-place finish of Delgaco, Pagulayan, Paraon and Josephine Qua in women’s quadruple sculls last Wednesday.

The pair of Amelyn Pagulayan and Kristine Paraon also competed Friday but finished fourth in the women’s pair, with Vietnam prevailing, followed by Indonesia and Myanmar.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Previous Article

Senator Go hails athletes

Next Article

Filipino triathletes seek to continue winning tradition in biennial games

Related Posts

Read more

Time not on Gilas side

THE Samahang Basketbol ng Pilipinas (SBP) announced over the weekend a 28-member pool for the national men’s team to the Cambodia 32nd Southeast Asian Games.

Read more

Cebu presses leader Kaya

DYNAMIC Herb Cebu bucked a lackluster performance to beat Mendiola FC 1991, 1-0, Saturday in the Philippines Football League brought to you by Qatar Airways at the Philippine Football Federation National Training Centre in Carmona Cavite.