Duterte places 6 regions under state of calamity

President Duterte has declared a state of calamity in six regions devastated by  Typhoon Odette (international code name Rai).

During his public address on Monday, Duterte announced he opted to “sign” the said resolution of the National Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Council (NDRRMC) to “hasten the rescue, relief, and rehabilitation efforts of the government and the private sector” in the typhoon-hit regions.

He also noted the measure will allow the government to impose price control on basic goods and commodities in the affected areas.

Among the areas covered by declaration are Regions 4B, 6, 7, 8, 10, and 13.

Based on their initial reports, NDRRMC Executive Director and Civil Defense Administrator Undersecretary Ricardo B. Jalad said they were able to record 156 fatalities in the aftermath of Typhoon Odette.

Bohol registered the most number of deaths with 68 and followed by Cebu with 54. The common causes of deaths are drowning by flood, sailing despite warning, being hit by fallen tree, being trapped in debris/collapsed structures, and due to landslide.

They also registered 37 people who are missing in the aftermath of the typhoon and 275 others who were injured because of it.

Jalad also reported typhoon Odette affected 1.13 million in 3,238 barangays.

He said the latest calamity to hit the country also caused an estimated P225,307,000 worth of damages to infrastructures and another over P200 million estimated damages to agriculture.

Jalad noted the said figures are not final and subject to validation by the NDRRMC.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Previous Article

DA bans Belgian poultry imports

Next Article

Cebu still reeling from poor telco services five days after ‘Odette’

Related Posts