Browse Archives
All Sections

Auto Focus Automobile of the Year Awards returns

JUST over 5 months ago, the Toyota Hilux and Alphard were officially proclaimed as the major winners of the 2020-2021 Auto Focus People’s Choice Awards (AFPCA) on December 17, 2020. The Toyota pickup and luxury van models bagged the coveted Auto Focus Automobile of the Year Award in the Standard and Premium/Luxury classifications respectively. And now, the 17th annual edition of the AFPCA is off and running with the opening of the online public poll beginning June 1, 2021.

Organized by Sunshine Television (STV) and led by its Chairman/CEO and motoring media personality, Ray Butch Gamboa, the AFPCA is STV’s premier motoring industry merit program that seeks to determine the Philippines’s most popular automobile brands and models via an annual public poll. The awards program features Model and Automobile of the Year honors for sedans, SUV/Crossovers, sports cars, vans/MPV’s and pickups in separate Standard and Premium/Luxury classes. 2021 mark the 17th annual undertaking of this unique poll, the only one of its kind in the country.   

“Thankfully, this year’s edition of the AFPCA has launched without the uncertainties and challenges that faced us in March last year with the onset of the present COVID pandemic and strict lockdown conditions about to be imposed throughout the Philippines.” STV’s Gamboa exclaimed.

Another new development pertinent to the AFPCA Rules and Guidelines will come into play this year. Gerry Aquino, Chairman of the AFPCA Awards Committee, and Gamboa reviewed in more depth the essence and value of being enshrined in the AFPCA Hall of Fame. As Aquino pointed out: “Under the present Rules and Guidelines, 5-time Model and 3-time Automobile of the Year awardees are accorded the distinct honor of being entered into the Hall of Fame.” 

The public may participate in the online poll of the 2021-2022 Auto Focus People’s Choice Awards. To vote, please click onto this link  that will direct you to the AFPCA Voting Page. Participants may vote every day and can register as many as 5 daily choices each in the separate Standard and Premium/Luxury categories from June 1–November 30, 2021.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Previous Article

Help! ‘Nabudol na naman ako!’

Next Article

Isuzu partners with Velocity Motor Sales Corp.

Related Posts