Browse Archives
All Sections

SFA welcomes 3 nations to Asean’s Treaty of Amity and Cooperation

DFA Secretary Teddy Locsin Jr.

SECRETARY of Foreign Affairs Teodoro L. Locsin Jr. welcomed the accession of three countries to the Treaty of Amity and Cooperation in Southeast Asia (TAC), as he expressed confidence in their future contributions to greater peace and stability in the region.

The Republic of Colombia’s Foreign Affairs Minister Claudia Blum noted that her country’s accession stands to consolidate cooperation efforts with all Asean member-states and strengthen political and diplomatic ties within the region.

Meanwhile, the Republic of South Africa’s International Relations and Cooperation Minister Naledi Pandor described her country’s accession as honoring the expressed wish for friendship and cooperation by their former president Nelson Mandela during his Southeast Asian visit in 1997.

For their part, the Republic of Cuba’s Foreign Affairs Minister Bruno Rodriguez Parrilla expressed pride for being the first Caribbean state to accede to TAC. He said his country is encouraged by the interest of expanding areas of cooperation with Asean.

The new accessions bring to 43 the number of high-contracting parties to the peace treaty signed on February 24, 1976. DFA

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Previous Article

Investing in women: Key to Covid-19 recovery

Next Article

King for the little ones

Related Posts