Have we seen the last of Mark and Jay?

In Photo: “THE Fast” Jayjay Helterbrand (center) joins “The Furious” Mark Caguioa (right) and Sol Mercado as they celebrate their victory.

HAVE we seen the last of “The Fast and The Furious” of Mark Caguioa and Jayjay Helterbrand?

No one really holds the answer right now except for Helterbrand, who hinted of retirement after Barangay Ginebra San Miguel won the Philippine Basketball Association (PBA) Governors’ Cup on Wednesday night at the Smart Araneta Coliseum.

The 40-year-old guard said he wanted to be with his family in the United States.

Caguioa and Helterbrand, who probably shared the hard court for one last time on Wednesday night, turned emotional with Helterbrand repeatedly answering questions about his retirement.

“I don’t know. I just wanted to enjoy it right now. I’ll talk to the coaches and management and see what happens,” said Helterbrand, the 2009 Most Valuable Player (MVP).

It was their fifth championship together. They donned the Ginebra jerseys when the team won the 2008 Fiesta Cup.

The 36-year-old Caguioa could not hide his tears when the final buzzer sounded, as the possibility of playing without Helterbrand looms.

“I feel happy, at the same time, sad. I don’t know if this is my last game [with Helterbrand],” the 2012 MVP said. “We’ve been together every day in practice. I hope he does not retire. Jayjay don’t retire. I don’t want to break it. This is for forever.”

The Ginebra backcourt duo, previously known as the “Bandana Brothers” for their headbands during their early years with the team, has seen the ups and downs of the franchise.

After winning their last crown in 2008 under Head Coach Jong Uichico, it was all downhill for the team that underwent multiple coaching changes—from Alfrancis Chua, Ato Agustin, Jeffrey Cariaso, Frankie Lim and, now, Tim Cone.

“It has been really a tough road for us. We started under different coaches. Coach Tim kind of settled the team and put the puzzle together,” Caguioa said.

“Here we are, we finally won. We thank the fans who are always there through thick and thin,” the 2001 Rookie of the Year shouted.

Helterbrand joined the legendary Robert Jaworski and Ramon Fernandez as the only players in the league to win a PBA title when they were 40.

Image credits: Roy Domingo


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Previous Article

Miracle in October

Next Article

Lights out for Meralco

Related Posts

Read more

De La Salle’s De la Cruz UAAP Player of the Week

JOLINA DE LA CRUZ has been the all-around driving force that the De La Salle Lady Spikers needed to keep them firmly in title contention following stunning back-to-back sweeps of defending University Athletic Association of the Philippines women’s volleyball champion National University (NU).

Read more

PSA Forum on world tilt-bound handball team

THE national women’s handball team which recently made history joins officials of the Little League Philippine Series in the Philippine Sportswriters Association (PSA) Forum at the conference hall of the Rizal Memorial Sports Complex.